Moshood Abiola Polytechnic (MAPOLY) Courses And School Fees

The Ogun State Government believes that the development of technical manpower is one of the reasonable investments that a nation can embark upon in a program of nation and society transformation. Thus, the Ogun State Polytechnic was established under the provisions of section 3 of the law cited as the Ogun State Polytechnic Law No. 8 of 12 June, 1980 and reviewed as the Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Edict, 1999.

However, the first set of 220 students was admitted into the institution in January, 1979 with staff compliment of 25 academic and 5 senior administrative officers. As at 2004/2005 session, students’ population had risen to 18,878 with about 520 academic and non-academic staff compliment.

The Polytechnic commenced operation on two temporary campuses, namely: Oke-Egunya and Onikolobo. Movement of all departments from the temporary campuses to the permanent site at Ojere started in April 1985 and was completed in March, 1988.

Faculties in Mapoly

Courses offered in Mapoly

A. School of Business & Management Studies

  • Accountancy
  • Banking & Finance
  • Business Administration
  • Marketing

B. School of Communication & Information Technology

  • Mass Communication
  • Office & Technology Management

C. School of Engineering

  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Computer Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Electrical/Electronic Engineering

D. School of Environmental Studies

The School started as School of Engineering and Environmental Studies in 1983 at the Onikolobo campus of the then Ogun State Polytechnic. A separate School of Environmental Studies (SENVS) was carved out in 1998.

Presently, there are six departments in the School. These are Urban and Regional Planning, Estate Management, Architecture, Building Technology, Surveying & Geo-Informatics and Quantity Surveying. Each department is headed by a HOD. There are 40 academic staff within the School. The Director oversees and co-ordinates the activities of the component departments and their staff.


  • Architecture
  • Urban & Regional Planning
  • Estate Management
  • Building Technology
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Surveying & Geo-Informatics
  • Leisure & Tourism

E. School of Science and Technology

  • Computer Science
  • Food Technology
  • Hospitality Management
  • Leisure and Tourism
  • Nutrition & Dietetics
  • Pharmaceutical Technology
  • Science Laboratory Technology
  • Statistics & Mathematics


Authorities of the Moshood Abiola Polytechnic (MAPOLY), Abeokuta releases the amount payable as school fees by newly admitted and returning students of the institution each Academic Session. The recent Mapoly school fees schedule is shown below:


 ND Students  HND Students
 Science / Technological Based Students N 55,000 N 51,000
 Non-Science Students  N 51,000  N 46,000



 ND Students  HND Students
 Science / Technological Based Students N 46,000 N 46,000
 Non-Science Students  N 41,000  N 41,000



 ND Students  HND Students
 Science / Technological Based Students N 80,300 N 89,300
 Non-Science Students  N 75,300  N 84,300



 ND Students  HND Students
 Science / Technological Based Students N 71,300 N 80,300
 Non-Science Students  N 66,300  N 75,300

About the Author

sanya michael is a graduate of University of Ibadan where he studied Theatre Arts with a major in Theatre Administration. he is an Arts management and politics enthusiast and when he is not doing any of these he is always on the internet reading biographies of prominent people.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *