Ogun Assembly approves Abiodun’s request of two SSAs, 20 SAs, meanwhile creates committees.

Governor Abiodun’s request for the appointment of two Senior Special Advisers and 20 Special Advisers in Ogun state to oversee the affairs of the state before commissioners are appointed for various Ministries, Departments and Agencies has been approved by the Ogun State House of Assembly.

Olakunle Oluomo, the speaker of the assembly, at a plenary which held on Thursday at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta, read the governor’s correspondence dated  July 2, 2019 before the lawmakers.
The letter partly read, “Mr Speaker, in order to sustain and intensify the momentum for the new administration, pending the appointment of commissioners for various ministries, I write to seek the approval of the Honourable House for the appointment of two  Senior Advisers and 20 Special Advisers.”

The approval occurred when a motion was moved by the Majority Leader, Yusuf Sheriff and was seconded by Bolanle  Ajayi. It was supported by the Whole House through a voice vote.

Also, 23 standing committees was constituted by the assembly after the passage of a motion by Soneye Kayode of the Obafemi-Owode State Constituency.

The motion was seconded by his Ijebu East counterpart, Adams Isaac and supported by all members through a voice vote,  shortly after the Deputy Speaker, Oludare Kadiri read the report of the Selection Committee earlier constituted by the Speaker in the previous week.

The committees as reported are; Works and Infrastructure in which Fasuwa Abiodun is the Chairman; Committee on Transportation to be led by Elemide Oludaisi; Finance and Appropriation would be chaired by Sobukanla Olakunle; Adegoke  Adeyanju would head Health Committee, just as Education, Science and Technology would be chaired by Adeyemi Ademuyiwa.

Also, Sylvester Abiodun would be in charge of Agriculture and Forestry; Akeem Balogun would head Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, while Ajibola Sikiratu would chair Women Affairs and Social Development, Committee.

Others  are Wahab Haruna, Chairman of  the Committee on Environment; Isaac Adams heads  Committee on Youth, Sports and  Employment Generation  and Kayode Soneye would be in charge of Lands and Housing.
Committee on Information, Culture and Tourism is chaired by Adejojo Yusuf;  while Committee on Commerce, Investments and Industries would be headed by Kemi Oduwole.

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *