Ogun State House of ssembly

The Ogun State House of Assembly is the legislative branch of the Ogun State Government inaugurated on February 3, 1979. The Ogun State House of assembly is unicameral with 26 representatives elected from each constituencies of the 18 local government area of the state.

List of Representatives in the Ogun state House of Assembly

Victor Fasanya (APC), Abeokuta South 1

Olowofuja Nureni (APC),Abeokuta South 2

Sogbein Yetunde (APC), Odeda constituency

Ojodu Olayiwola (APC), Abeokuta North

Tunde Sanusi (APC), Obafemi-Owode

Oluomo Taiwo (APC), Ifo 1

Ganiyu Oyedeji (APC), Ifo 2

Jolaoso Israel (APC), Ewekoro

Bowale Solaja (PDP), Ijebu North1

Oludare Kadiri (APC), Ijebu North 2

Oyenuga Adejuwon (PDP), Ijebu-East

Harrison Adeyemi (APC), Ogun Waterside

Alausa Olawale (PDP), Ijebu-Ode

Adebowale Oladimeji (APC), Odogbolu

Olujimi James (PDP), Ijebu North East

Mafe Adeyinka (APC), Sagamu 1

Soyebo Mojeed (PDP), Sagamu 2

Samuel Olusola (APC), Ikenne

Adebiyi Adeleye (APC), Remo North

Akingbade Jemili (PDP), Imeko-Afon

Akintayo Julianah (PDP), Egbado South/Ilaro/Owode

Suraj Adekunbi (APC), Egbado North 1

Oduntan Atanda (PDP), Egbado North 2

Ojo Adebowale (PDP), Idiroko/Ipokia

Aina Nurudeen (APC), Ado/Odo/Ota 1

Bankole Olusola (APC), Ado/Odo/Ota 2

List of Committees in the Ogun state House of Assembly and their Heads

The committees are constituted by the Ogun State House of Assembly to oversee various aspects of operations and duties of different elements of government as part of its statutory responsibilities.

Committee on Selection/Rules and Business

Ogun state house of assembly

Rt. Hon. Adekunbi, Suraj Ishola (Prince)

Committee on Tenders Board

Hon. Oluomo, Olakunle Taiwo (Prince)

Committee on Inter-Parliamentary Affairs

Hon. Mafe, Adeyinka (Barr.)

Committee on Justice, Ethics and Public Petitions


Hon. Adebowale Oladimeji Ojuri


Committee on Works and Infrastructure

Hon. Ojodu, Olayiwola Jamiu


Committee on Education, Science & Tech

Hon. Fasanya, Victor Oludotun (Barr.)


Committee on Health

Hon. Aina, N. Akinpelu (Barr.)


Committee on Finance and Appropriation


Hon. Bankole, Olusola

Committee on Transportation


Hon. Jolaoso Olujobi Israel

Committee on Investment, Commerce & Industries


Hon. Solaja, O. Bowale

Committee on Local Govt. & Chieft. Affairs
Hon. Sonuga, Samuel Olusola
Committee on Agriculture & Forestry
Hon. Harrison, Adeyemi
Committee on Oil, Gas, Energy, Water Resources and Rural Dev.

Hon. Oduntan, Atanda Rasak (Alh.)

Committee on House Services

Hon. Akintayo, Juliana Folakemi



Committee on Youth, Sport & Employment Generation
Hon. Oyedeji, Ganiyu Alani
Committee on Public Account
Hon. Oyenuga, Adejuwon Olufowobi
Committee on Information, Culture & Tourism
Hon. Oludare, Oluwatimileyin Kadiri
Committee on Community Development & Cooperative
Hon. Olujimi, James Otukoya
Committee on Special Duties
Hon. Adebowale, Ojo Viwanu
Committee on Environment
Hon. Sanusi, Wasiu Tunde
Committee on Women Affairs and Social Development
Hon. Sogbein, Yetunde Adekambi (Mrs.)
Committee on Land and Housing
Hon. Adebiyi, Adeleye
Committee on Establishment and Public Services Matters
Hon. Soyebo, Mojeed Olusesan

The Ogun State House of Assembly which is the Legislative Arm of Governemt was established with the inauguration of the 1st Legislature on the 2nd October, 1979 and the tenure which lasted till October, 1983 passed 40 Bills.

The 2nd Legislature had the shortest tenure which was between October 1983 and December, 31st 1983 (3 months), and it was truncated by a Military Coup D’etat before it could pass any Bill.

The 4th Legislature which commenced on 3rd June, 1999 and ended on 2nd June, 2003 passed 29 Bills.

The 5th Legislature came on board on 3rd June, 2003 and the term on 2nd June, 2007 with the House passing 50 Bills.

The 6th Legislature was from 4th June 2007 – 5th June, 2011 passing 8 Bills.

The immediate past 7th Legislature covered a period of 6th June, 2011 to 7th June, 2015 and had 45 Bills to its credit and the current, 8th Legislature was inaugurated on the 8th of June, 2015.



The foundation stone of the Ogun State House of Assembly Complex was laid in 1979 by Brigadier H.O.D. EGHAGHA. The Complex which comprises of the Assembly Chambers and Office Blocks was designed by Architects in the State Ministry of Works an Housing (Chief Architect J. Olatunde Beckley and Architect F. J. Batistauta). The Chamber is of a unique design and at inception was designed to seat 36 members. The sitting arrangement was based on the conference approach, a mass depature from the confrontational seating arrangement characteristic of the Westminster model.


  • Enactment of laws: They enact, repeal and revise laws for the citizenry.
  • All laws originate as bills.  A bill (other than a Finance bill) may be conceived and
  • drafted by any citizen of the State.  But only Members may sponsor it in the
  • House, including those forwarded by the Executive and private citizens
  • To become Law, a bill must be read three times and passed by majority vote of  the House.
  • Oversight Function/ Check on other Arms of Government: They act as supervisor or “watchdog” of the activities of the other organs of government (the Executive and the Judiciary) in furtherance of the doctrine of checks and balances.
  • Approval for the spending of Public Fund/Money: Public money cannot be raised or spent without Legislative approval as clearly stated in Section 80(3) and 80(4) of the Nigeria Constitution. “No money shall be withdrawn from any public fund of the State unless the issue of those money has been authorized by the Legislature.
  • The State House of Assembly derives similar jurisdiction through Section 120(3) & 120(4) of the Constitution.

About the Author

sanya michael is a graduate of University of Ibadan where he studied Theatre Arts with a major in Theatre Administration. he is an Arts management and politics enthusiast and when he is not doing any of these he is always on the internet reading biographies of prominent people.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *